G5 Club banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so I'm new to the car and I've never had an onboard that would tell me what my "Fuel Economy" was. So, I thought last night I would see if I could "fool" this thing... so, I topped up at a station that was at the top of a very long... yet gradual hill. (Route 206 in NJ by Stokes State Forest).

I re-set the fuel economy meter.... gently rolled it up to speed and proceeded to coast in neutral down this long hill.

By the time I got to the bottom, I was up to 50mpg.

Interestingly enough it stayed up there for quite some time!

So.. anyone else ever "play" with their fuel economy meter... and if so... how high didya get before you had to re-engage the engine?

·
Registered
110 Posts
messing around: got it up to 70+ mpg, reset it at the top of a fairly long, steep hill, 5th gear 30 mph.

i kinda wish it had a current rating along with an average

·
PSD=PostSaturnDepression
826 Posts
Yeah, I had mine as low as 6.0L/100km, I think that is about 40mpg. And I was actually driving on the highway going 130kph... mind you it was for almost 600km straight run!

Long distance driving FTMFW! :D

·
'07 Black GT Coupe
2,400 Posts
dentresistant said:
messing around: got it up to 70+ mpg, reset it at the top of a fairly long, steep hill, 5th gear 30 mph.

i kinda wish it had a current rating along with an average
I have it with my dashhawk and it's frightening :shock: you can see the $ going out of your pockets when you floor it, literally! :lol:

·
Premium Member
6,690 Posts
mine sits at 8.7 mostly I can get 6-7 if I only do 100, or rolling down hill I got 3.6 once lol....followed by a steep jump to 12.8 when I put my foot into it :roll:

·
PSD=PostSaturnDepression
826 Posts
Once I noticed the economy jumping to 32l/100km when I floored it.... I was shocked! I never knew it ran that rich. :shock:

·
Premium Member
601 Posts