G5 Club banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know there is no dipstick on the 2007 Pontiac g5, but I just wanted to know how to check the transmission fluid.

I got my license very recently, and since my family never uses the poor old g5 I got to take it and it had 117,000km on it when I got it and I don't think my dad has ever serviced the transmission fluid, and I'm just trying to check and see how far gone it is since it says you're supposed to change it every 80,000 km.

I am fairly new to these types of things and probably wont be changing it myself, I just want to see what kind of condition its in without having to go to a shop and making them do it.

thanks and please be very descriptive when explaining :D

·
Administrator
12,848 Posts
Welcome to the club!

Unless your driving conditions/habits fall into the "severe service" category, GM recommends NO changing interval for the transmission fluid and filter.

Change automatic transaxle fluid and filter if the
vehicle is mainly driven under one or more of these
conditions:
− In heavy city traffic where the outside temperature
regularly reaches 90°F (32°C) or higher.
− In hilly or mountainous terrain.
− When doing frequent trailer towing.
− Uses such as found in taxi, police, or delivery
service.
If you do not use your vehicle under any of these
conditions, the fluid and filter do not require changing.

·
1,929 Posts
Some folks have the auto tranny serviced at 100K miles. They hook it up to a machine that flushes and refills in one shot. Manuals, well, drain an' fill maybe at 50K and/or 100K miles. Recycle with motor oil.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Welcome to the club!

Unless your driving conditions/habits fall into the "severe service" category, GM recommends NO changing interval for the transmission fluid and filter.
I mean, I do live in a hilly area. SO I guess I should do it

·
Administrator
12,848 Posts