G5 Club banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I have a 2005 Pontiac Pursuit (the Canadian version of the G5), 4 doors, 150 000km, 2.2L and I want to do some cleaning and maintenance work myself next month. A do it yourself project for me, so I can learn more about my car. I am not a car expert, I am mechanically inclined and willing to spend time on it..

Coolant service: I want to remove the current Dex-Cool coolant completely and put in new coolant (still Dex-Cool). The owner's manual only talks about topping more coolant, not flushing it completely.. I have read online about flushing procedures of the coolant but I could not find an article specific to the 2005 Pursuit (G5). My coolant temperature is normal but this I still want to do it because it is old.

Plugs: I want change the spark plugs, they are stock. I do not suspect the current plugs to be faulty but I want to change them anyways because they are old. I already bought iridium replacements.

Cleaning: I want to clean the air control valve, throttle body & air flow sensor. Why, because my check engine light came on and the code is due to the fuel mixture running too lean (I got the "knock" code too). I have felt nothing different in my car's behavior since the code came up so I suspect it is a minor issue. I have been putting fuel injector cleaners in the gas tank from time to time before this code ever came up so these will not help. After the cleaning, if the problem persists, I will have the fuel injectors undergo ultrasonic cleaning at a shop.

Now my questions:

- (1) How many liters of Dex-cool should I buy? Sounds silly but I actually do not know, I assume 7 liters... They come already pre-mixed so no additional water is necessary.

- (2) I will do the coolant flush myself for the very first time, how difficult was it for those who tried it before? Any special advise or strong warning?