G5 Club banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I'm new to this forum and G5 ownership but I've already had to install a "new" engine, clutch, both timing and balance shaft chains, and front end bushings. So I'm not a novice mechanic by any means. I searched a lot on this topic in forums but have come up short. I have an 08 G5 2.2 manual. I bought it a month ago with a blown engine. I bought an engine from cl from an automatic 07 cobalt with only 70k. I used the existing wiring harness from the manual but did not change over any sensors. Did the chains while it was out and a clutch. So the engine is in now and running great. My problem is I have no gauges. The people I bought the car from said the problem was not pre existing but I'm not sure if I believe them. So I figured ok gm ignition switch duh. So I went and had the recall done and it didn't fix it. They installed a cylinder and switch. Power steering recall was done previously.

So my rpm and speedo gauges act a bit funny between off and 0 but eventually rest at 0 and stay there while the car is running. The fuel gauges remains at 0 always. The brake light, abs, and airbag light are also illuminated.

My scanner reads vehicle specific abs and there are no codes.

My scanner also does live data and can read Rpms and the vss so I was using it to drive the car lol.

No matter what, the gauges remain at 0 while driving they do not fluctuate.

The odometer reads the mileage at startup then turns into a thin line across the middle of the readout.

The lights are working for the gauges and can be dimmed by the dimmer switch and turned on and off with the light switch.

The blinkers work fine but the blinker arrows do not illuminate on the cluster.

Number 7 fuse is good As well as every fuse in the car. Fuses that were bad when I got the car were both cigarette lighters, and both high and low fan fuses. They have been replaced and are working fine.